"I come from open prairie..."

Joni Mitchell

Joni's remarkable life has been documented in thousands of articles, interviews, press releases, music, and art over the course of her career. The library contains 4879 titles and counting, including articles written and interviews conducted exclusively for the website that cannot be found anywhere else. The Chronology of Appearances is another comprehensive database that provides the dates and venues of Joni's performances chronicling every known appearance from Joni's coffee house days to some of the biggest venues in the world.

It is probably safe to say that the Library and Chronology of Appearances contain the most exhaustive collection of publically available information in existence about Joni Mitchell. Sifting through all of this material to distill an accurate biography of the artist is an impossible task and no-one but Joni herself knows all of the incidents, feelings, thoughts, motivations - the many facets of the personality that make up both the inner and the outer life of this complex human being. But by utilizing the site's invaluable resources, supplementing it with material from books and other people who have played important parts in her life, and, of course, by listening to the wealth of incredible music she has created, we at feel that it is possible to search out the most reliable and comprehensive information available to piece together a portrait of the great artist.

Joni Mitchell and Wally Breese

Joni and Wally Breese

In 1996 Wally Breese, the creator of, began writing a biography series that he published on the website in 1998. Planned to be an ongoing and complete project, his untimely death in 2000 put an end to his goal.

In 2012, commissioned a continuation of the project from long-time Joni fan Mark Scott. It was decided that, due to all the new information that had come to light in the past decade and a half, Mark would start again at the beginning with a new biography series. We present both works here in their (so far) entirety.

2014 Biography Series by Mark Scott

  1. I come from open prairie...
  2. Oh, but California...
  3. Crown and anchor me or let me sail away...
  4. Did you get a round resounding for you way up here?
  5. Safaris to the heart of all that jazz....
  6. Caught in the middle... (coming soon)
  7. Come in from the cold
  8. Accolades and Honors
  9. The key to set me free
  10. Love puts on a new face
  11. You've got to spread your light like blazes...
  12. Chicken scratching for my immortality
  13. Let your little light shine
  14. One day I just disappeared...
  15. A song and celebration
  16. Coming to people's parties...