Library of Articles

  • Library: Articles

First Studio Album to be Released by Christopher Cross in Twelve Years Print-ready version

March 31, 2011

Christopher Cross' new album DOCTOR FAITH, is to be released May 10 by Eagle Rock Entertainment (through earMusic). It marks the first all-new studio offering from Christopher Cross in 12 years.

Thirty-one years, five Grammys and an Oscar later, DOCTOR FAITH is a dramatic return. The production, for the first time, is guitar-oriented, rather than keyboard-oriented. Michael McDonald is on hand to give voice to the title character.

"This album not only feels like a new chapter to my career," says Cross, "it feels like starting a whole new book."

Cross has dedicated the album to Joni Mitchell "for a lifetime of inspiration."

Influenced by Mitchell's idiosyncratic way with a lyric line, Cross, and long time songwriting partner Rob Meurer, have written songs sure to be embraced by fans.

Cross landed on the music scene in 1980, winning the Grammy for "Best New Artist." Sailing and Arthur's Theme (Best That You Can Do) were both #1s, the latter co-written with Burt Bacharach, Carole Bayer Sager, and the late Peter Allen. Cross charted eight times between 1980 and 1983. He has eight albums to his credit, as well as a number of other packages.

DOCTOR FAITH Track Listing:
1.) Hey Kid
2.) I'm Too Old For This
3.) When You Come Home
4.) Dreamers
5.) November
6.) Leave It To Me
7.) Doctor Faith
8.) Rescue
9.) Help Me Cry
10.) Till I Resist
11.) Poor Man's Ecstasy
12.) Everything
13.) Prayin'

Copyright protected material on this website is used in accordance with 'Fair Use', for the purpose of study, review or critical analysis, and will be removed at the request of the copyright owner(s). Please read Notice and Procedure for Making Claims of Copyright Infringement.

Added to Library on August 12, 2011. (1244)


Log in to make a comment